Home

I was coming home from the gym… I’d rung home at quarter past five and said ‘I’m on my way home’ and unfortunately had a guy coming up the hill who’d been drinking most of the day …he clipped a car that was 150 yards away from me, but then he lost control, so he was just rotating, and I didn’t even see him come towards me. He slammed into me head on, but then my car, because it was in the centre, [was] pushed onto the car that went into the back of me and the one that he was overtaking, so my car slowed the whole four of us down and I took the brunt of it, and he threw me into a field, basically.

 

On day four …they put me in a room on my own, and I felt quite trapped, because, you know, you’re in so much pain, and you’re not sure of what’s going on. You know you’ve been injured but you don’t know where – you’re sort of in and out of consciousness.

And I found that as I lay in bed, [when] the nurses would come to see me, or the doctors, all I would see was a skeleton, and I couldn’t see their face; so every time I closed my eyes I thought ‘am I alive or dead?’, because that’s how I felt, you know? ‘Am I really alive?’

It was like …horror; because every time somebody came to me all I saw was this skull, the skeleton of these people. And I had that for about five days.

 

I felt scared, because when they were closing the door I just felt as if I was in a tomb – you know? Because it’s very dark, even thought it was daylight. I think day goes into night and night goes into day, and you just drift into that – you just don’t see daylight at all. 

 

When my family came I was fine – it was just the nursing staff; whenever they approached, because they were coming to give you medication or whatever, just looking at them was that fear factor, you know? Because there was nothing I could do – I couldn’t move. They had their uniform on so you wouldn’t see their like body; it was just the face.

 

For me, out of everything I’ve gone through, that was my major thing – because it happened at the beginning and it stayed with me the whole – well, it stayed with me for five years, really. People said ‘what can you remember from your accident?’ and that would be the first image that would jump up – the skeletons…

For me, those images – that was majorly scary to me, because I was in a room on my own, which made it worse – because I just thought ‘oh don’t close the door, because if you close the door, I’m trapped’.

Nobody ever came back to me and said ‘we understand what you’re going through, we’re going to try something else’. They just left me. So it was always there. It was always always there.

 

Leave a Reply

